If You Like : Share It with Friends

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Vishwanathan Anand And Bharat Ratna.

Pin It

Sports Minister Ajay Makan thursday said five-time World Chess Champion Vishvanathan anand was a deserving candidate for Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award.
Even the Tamil Nadu CM has demanded the World chess champion to be awarded the Bharat Ratna during her brief interaction with the media and latter she announced Rs. 2 Crore reward to Anand.

Notable tournament victories

1986 Arab-Asian International Chess Championship 1st
1987 Sakthi Finance Grandmasters Chess Tournament 1st
1988 51st Hoogovens Chess Tournament, Wijk aan Zee 1st
1989 2nd Asian Active Chess Championship, Hong Kong 1st
1990 Asian Zonal Championship Gold Medal
1990 Manchester Chess Festival, Manchester 1st
1990 Triveni Super Grandmasters Tournament, Delhi Joint 1st
1991 World Chess Championship, Brussels Quarter Finalist
1992 Reggio Emilia Chess Tournament, Reggio Emilia 1st
1992 Goodrich Open International Tournament, Calcutta 1st
1992 Linares match Anand vs Vassily Ivanchuk 5:3
1992 Alekhine Memorial, Moscow
1993 PCA Interzonal, Groningen 1st
1994 Melody Amber Tournament, Monaco 1st
1994 World Championship Candidates Cycle, Linares
1994 PCA Grand Prix, Moscow 1st
1995 PCA Candidates Final, Las Palmas
1996 Dortmunder Schachtage, Dortmund (Joint 1st with Kramnik)
1996 Credit Swiss Rapid Chess Grand Prix, Geneva 1st
1996 Torneo Magistral de Ajedrez, Leon
1997 Torneo de Ajedrex, Dos Hermanes 1st.
1997 Melody Amber Tournament, Monaco 1st
1997 Aegon Man vs Computers chess event won 4:2
1997 Chess Classic Rapid Tournament, Frankfurt
1997 Invesbanka Chess tournament, Belgrade 1st
1997 Credit Suisse Classic Tournament, Biel 1st
1997 Knock-Out Championship, Groningen
1998 FIDE World Chess Championship Finalist
1998 60th Hoogoven's Schaak Tornoi, Wijk aan Zee 1st
1998 Torneo International De Ajedrez, Linares 1st
1998 Torneo Magitral Communidad De Madrid, Madrid 1st
1998 Siemens Nixdorf Duell (Rapid), Frankfurt 1st
1998 Fontys-Tilburg International Chess Tournament 1st
1999 Wydra Memorial Chess (Rapid), Haifa 1st
1999 Torneo Magistral de Ajedrez, Leon beat Karpov 5:1
2000 Wydra International Tournament (Rapid), Haifa 1st
2000 Torneo Magistral de Ajedrez, Leon beat Shirov 1½:½
2000 Fujitsu Siemens Giants Chess (Rapid), Frankfurt 1st
2000 Corsica Masters (Rapid), Corsica 1st
2003 65th Corus Chess Tournament, Wijk aan Zee 1st
2004 66th Corus Chess Tournament, Wijk aan Zee 1st
2006 68th Corus Chess Tournament, Wijk aan Zee (Joint 1st with Topalov)
2007 Linares Chess Tournament, Linares 1st
2007 FIDE World Championship Tournament, Mexico City 1st
2008 Linares Chess Tournament, Linares 1st
2011 Leon Chess Tournament, beat Shirov 4.5:1.5 (8th win in this tournament)
2011 Botvinnik Memorial, Moscow, 1st[55]
2011 Corsica Masters Knockout (Rapid), Corsica 1st[56]
2012 FIDE World Chess Championship 2012 1st (4th consecutive win in this tournament)
2012 World Championship crown,Russia, beating Boris Gelfand of Israel.
Indian national honours
Arjuna Award for Outstanding Indian Sportsman in Chess in 1985.
Padma Shri - 1987.
The inaugural Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, India's highest sporting honour in the year 1991-1992.
Padma Bhushan - Third highest civilian award awarded by Government of India in 2000.
Padma Vibhushan - Second highest civilian award awarded by Government of India in 2007.
Other honours
National Citizens Award and Soviet Land Nehru Award in 1987
British Chess Federation 'Book of the Year' Award in 1998 for his book My Best Games of Chess.
Jameo de Oro the highest honour given by the Government of Lanzarote in Spain on 25 April 2001. The award is given to illustrious personalities with extraordinary achievements.
Nilesh Murali and Rahul Desirazu Excellence in Chess Award (2004, 2007)
Chess Oscar (1997, 1998, 2003, 2004, 2007, and 2008).
Sportstar Millennium Award in 1998, from India's premier Sports magazine for being the sportperson of the millennium.
'Global Strategist Award' for Mastering many formats of World Chess Championships by NASSCOM in 2011
Tamil Nadu CM J.Jayalalithaa honoured Anand with a cheque of Rs 2 crores,for winning the World Chess Championship for the fifth time.
Readers Please Write Your Views.

No comments:

Post a Comment